Wednesday, December 27, 2017, 15h07

V. Setúbal-Benfica: good memories for the eagles in the last 10 years


Rui Vitória's squad closes competition in 2017 at 9:15 pm on Friday at Estádio do Bonfim, in a match for the 3rd and last round of the CTT League Cup group stage.

On Friday, at 9:15 pm, Benfica visits Estádio do Bonfim to play against V. Setúbal (already qualified), in a match from Gameweek 3 of the CTT League Cup group stage, which is also the eagles’ last game in 2018.

In the last 10 away matches at the sadinos' stadium, Benfica did well in most of the games, with seven wins and only one defeat (in the last season). All the games in question have been for the National Championship, having been registered three routs. The first happened in 2008/09 (0-4), with Nuno Gomes and Cardozo completing a brace. It was followed by a 0-5 result in 2012/13 and in 2014/15, with Salvio, who scored in both matches, being the standout performer.

In the CTT League Cup, this will be the fourth clash between the two teams, the second at Estádio do Bonfim. The first time was in the debut season of the League Cup (2007/08). In the 4th round, in a two-legged tie, V. Setúbal prevailed (1-1 at Luz and 2-1 at Bonfim) and went through to the group stage with Sporting, Penafiel and Beira-Mar. In the final against Sporting, the "sadinos" won the first edition of the competition in the penalty shoot, after a scoreless draw in the 90 minutes.

The last encounter in this competition happened in 2014/15. In the semifinal , at Estádio da Luz, Benfica won by 3-0, with goals from Talisca, Pizzi and Jonas, and move through to the final in Coimbra where they beat Marítimo, by 2-1. Now, after two draws in the first two rounds, the eagles, with two points, have no chance of qualifying for the semifinals.


Season Result Benfica's goalscorers
2016/17 1-0 L -
2015/16 2-4 W Mitroglou (2), Pizzi and Jonas
2014/15 0-5 W Talisca (3), Salvio and Ola John
2013/14 0-2 W Rodrigo and Lima
2012/13 0-5 W Rodrigo (2), Salvio, Enzo Pérez and Nolito
2011/12 1-3 W Bruno César (2) and Cardozo
2010/11 0-2 W Gaitán and Jara
2009/10 1-1 D Ricardo Silva (og)
2008/09 0-4 W Nuno Gomes (2) and Cardozo (2)
2007/08 1-1 D Mantorras

Text: Marco Rebelo

Pics: Archive / SL Benfica

We use cookies to improve your browsing experience.
By your continued use of this site you accept our cookie use policy.