29 July 2020, 12h25

The extraordinary general meeting of Liga Portugal, this Tuesday, has determined a new competitive model for the 2020/21 League Cup (Allianz Cup).

In force only this season, to face a limited calendar due to COVID-19, the League Cup will have only 8 teams. The qualified teams will be the first six on the Liga NOS table and the first two on the LigaPro table after the conclusion of November’s last matchday.

The final four will take place between January 16 and 23, 2021. 

Benfica is the team with the most titles in the competition: 7. The eagles celebrated in 2008/09, 2009/10, 2010/11, 2011/12, 2012/13, 2014/15 and 2015/16.

Text: Marco Rebelo

Photos: Archive / SL Benfica

Last update: Wednesday, July 29, 2020

We use cookies to improve your browsing experience.
By your continued use of this site you accept our cookie use policy.