29 January 2022, 21h44

Benfica-Sporting, the final of the League Cup at Estádio Municipal de Leiria, Dr. Magalhães Pessoa. Final score: 1-2.


90'+6' Ends the match in Leiria: Benfica-Sporting, 1-2.

90'+2' Yellow card shown to João Mário.

90' Five minutes of added time.

88' Substitutions for Sporting: Paulinho and Pablo Sarabia come off, Tiago Tomás and Nuno Santos come on.

85' Substitution for Sporting: Matheus Nunes comes off, Ugarte comes on.


83' Substitutions for Benfica: Everton, Meïte and Morato are replaced by Pizzi, Taarabt and Henrique Araújo.

78' 1-2. Long pass from Pedro Porro to Sarabia, who beats Odysseas.

77' Yellow card shown to Esgaio for fouling João Mário.

Diogo Gonçalves

73' Substitution for Benfica: Diogo Gonçalves comes off, Gil Dias comes on.

66' Substitution for Sporting: out goes Neto, in comes Pedro Porro.

61' Substitution for Benfica: Yaremchuk comes off, Gonçalo Ramos on.

60' Yellow card shown to Matheus Nunes for fouling Weigl. 

Benfica-Sporting final da Taça da Liga

58' Yellow card shown to Everton for fouling Palhinha.

53' Yellow card for Paulinho.

53' Yellow card for Vertonghen.

49' 1-1. Goal for Sporting. Gonçalo Inácio scores with a header following Sarabia's corner on the left side.

46' The second half begins!

Benfica-Sporting final da Taça da Liga

45'+3' Ends the first half in Leiria: Benfica lead by 1-0.

45' Added time: two minutes.

Benfica-Sporting final da Taça da Liga

31'Yellow card shown to Neto after fouling Everton.

Benfica-Sporting final da Taça da Liga

23' 1-0. GOAL! BENFICA! EVERTON! Grimaldo receives the ball on the left, passes to Everton, who, in the box, takes an opponent out of the way and shoots with his left foot.

Benfica-Sporting final da Taça da Liga

1' The match begins at the Estádio Municipal de Leiria!


Estádio Municipal de Leiria
Benfica XI
Odysseas, Valentino, Morato, Vertonghen, Grimaldo, Weigl, João Mário, Meïte, Diogo Gonçalves, Everton and Yaremchuk
Helton Leite, André Almeida, Ferro, Paulo Bernardo, Taarabt, Pizzi, Gil Dias, Henrique Araújo and Gonçalo Ramos
Sporting XI
Adán, Neto, Gonçalo Inácio, Feddal, Ricardo Esgaio, João Palhinha, Matheus Nunes, Matheus Reis, Pablo Sarabia, Pedro Gonçalves and Paulinho
João Virgínia, Pedro Porro, Ugarte, Daniel Bragança, Tabata, Jovane, Nuno Santos, Geny and Tiago Tomás
Half-time -
Benfica goals



Manuel Mota


Read HERE.

Text: Editorial Staff
Photos: Archive / SL Benfica
Last update: Saturday, January 29, 2022

We use cookies to improve your browsing experience.
By your continued use of this site you accept our cookie use policy.