12 August 2022, 11h07

After securing the presence in the Champions League play-off, Benfica focuses its attention on matchday 2 of the Liga Bwin. The match against Casa Pia is scheduled for Saturday, August 13, at 6:00 pm, at Estádio Municipal de Leiria – Dr. Magalhães Pessoa.

In the opening round, the two teams achieved different results. The eagles, playing at home in front of 53 617 spectators, beat Arouca, by 4-0Casa Pia, returning to the National Championship after participating in 1938/39, traveled to the Azores and drew 0-0 with Santa Clara.


At Estádio da Luz, Benfica played against Arouca in 4x2x3x1 and was very offensive. In addition to the goals scored by Gilberto, Rafa (2) and Enzo, the reds closed the Liga Bwin League round leading in several collective items, as proven by the Wyscout statistics: 22 shots (six on target), 89% pass accuracy, 71% ball possession, 24 crosses and 97 passes into the last third.

With a 3x4x3 formation, Casa Pia, in the Azores, started the match with Ricardo Batista, Vasco Fernandes, Zolotic, João Nunes, Lelo, Lucas Soares, Afonso Taira, Ângelo Neto, Godwin, Kunimoto and Rafael Martins.

Raio-X do Casa Pia-Benfica

From the opening match, Wyscout shows us that Casa Pia had less ball possession than the opponent (47% against 53%), but was more incisive, with 11 shots against Santa Clara's six. Filipe Martins' men had more ball recoveries (87) and won more individual duels (104).


Despite the fact that the Reds' opponent has been away from the main National Championship for many years, the head to head in other competitions created a record of  37 official matches between the two teams, with a clear advantage for Benfica: 25 wins (68%) against five from Casa Pia (14%). The draw was result in seven occasions.

Looking at the data in the National Championship there are two matches played in the 1938/39 season. At Casa Pia, Benfica won 0-1; in front of their fans, the result was more expressive: 10-1.

Raio-X do Casa Pia-Benfica


For the 2022/23 season 11 players joined the club and 10 left.

Eteki (Granada), Kunimoto (Jeonbuk Hyundai), Anderson (Tsarsko Selo), Fernando Varela (PAOK), Léo Bolgado (Coimbra-MG), Clayton (Vila Nova), Eduardo Ferreira (Caracas FC), João Nunes (Puskás AFC), Rafael Martins (Moreirense), Diogo Pinto (CF Estrela) and Lucas Soares (V. Guimarães B) are the new additions.

Text: Marco Rebelo
Photos: Archive / SL Benfica; Facebook / Casa Pia
Last update: Friday, August 12, 2022


We use cookies to improve your browsing experience.
By your continued use of this site you accept our cookie use policy.